Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Preliminary Line Up for IFOA 2011 Announced

Share |

From our friends at Authors at Harbourfront Centre:

Authors at Harbourfront Centre is delighted to announce the preliminary line-up for the 32nd annual International Festival of Authors (IFOA), October 19 to 29, 2011. For 11 days each October, the IFOA presents a wealth of literary talent from across the globe in a number of events including readings, panel discussions, onstage interviews, book signings, and a wide range of special presentations.

“The best way to get to know a country and its people is through its literature,” says Geoffrey Taylor, Director of the IFOA. In 2011, the IFOA draws attention to the art of literary translation with its programming focus Found in Translation. Authors, translators, journalists and publishing professionals join on stage to discuss the importance of making literature available in multiple languages and platforms and how this affects readers across the globe.

IFOA’s preliminary line-up includes 70 authors writing in categories from literary fiction to picture books, narrative non-fiction to graphic novels, poetry to thrillers. Authors confirmed thus far include: heavy-hitters Russell Banks, Anne Enright, Nancy Huston and Michael Ondaatje; Can-lit icons Douglas Copeland, Clark Blaise, Elizabeth Hay, Helen Humphreys, Wayne Johnston, David Adams Richards, Miriam Toews and Guy Vanderhaeghe; international stars Linda Grant, Johan Harstad, Dermot Healy, Bharati Mukherjee, Tom Perrotta, Clay Shirky, John Burnham Schwartz and Colson Whitehead; crime-fiction specialists Stuart MacBride, Denise Mina and Ian Rankin; debut authors Stephen Kelman, Erin Morgenstern, Miroslav Penkov, Emma Ruby-Sachs, Simon Toyne and Sarah Winman; poets Ken Babstock, Gary Barwin, David A. Groulx, Ruth Roach Pierson, Souvankham Thammavongsa and Zachariah Wells; graphic novelist Daniel Clowes; and for young lit-lovers, IFOA helps celebrate Franklin the Turtle’s 25th anniversary with special guests Paulette Bourgeois and Brenda Clark.

Also confirmed to appear at IFOA are:
Edem Awumey, Peter Behrens, David Bezmozgis, Joseph Boyden, Stephen Clarke, Lynn Coady, Rana Dasgupta, Marina Endicott, Brian Francis, Conor Grennan, Lev Grossman, Jennifer Haigh, C.C. Humphreys, Dany Laferrière, Lazer Lederhendler, Prue Leith, Lee Maracle, Tessa McWatt, Helen Oyeyemi, Thomas Pletzinger, Polly Samson, Dr. Michael Schneider, Rachel Simon, Gary Shteyngart, Drew Hayden Taylor, Timothy Taylor, Madeleine Thien, Sylvia Tyson, Dan Vyleta, Andrew Westoll, Meg Wolitzer and Alexi Zentner.

Tickets to four IFOA special events go on sale this Tuesday, June 14 and can be purchased through or by phone at 416-973-4000.

IFOA special events on sale on Tuesday, June 14:
Oct. 24 – Governor General’s Literary Award shortlist readings: $25
Oct. 26 – Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize shortlist readings: $18
Oct. 28 – Celebrating the 10th Awarding of the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction: $18
Oct. 29 – Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist readings: $25

IFOA also continues to travel across Ontario with the touring programme, IFOA Ontario, with events scheduled in locations including Barrie, Brantford, Burlington, Hamilton, Midland, Orillia, Owen Sound, Parry Sound, Picton, Port Hope, Thunder Bay, Uxbridge, Windsor, and Woodstock. These satellite events take IFOA authors on the road to connect with audiences beyond downtown Toronto. IFOA Ontario takes place from October 16 to November 5.

For more information about IFOA and for programming updates throughout the summer, the public may visit or call the Harbourfront Centre Box Office at 416-973-4000. Tickets go on sale in September and are priced at $18/$15 for members/free for students and youth 25 and under (subject to availability). Some exceptions apply. Please refer to individual event listings.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad