Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Longlist for 2012 Charles Taylor Prize Announced

Share |
charles taylor prize emblem

The prestigious Charles Taylor Prize for non-fiction has revealed it's longlist for the 2012 selection. Previously, the award only announced a shortlist and the winner, but the Charles Taylor Foundation, which presents the annual award, decided this year to expand to a longlist in order to provide more exposure to a wider array of notable books.

From the 115 submissions for this year's 25,000 dollar prize, here are the longlist finalists:

Something Fierce: Memoirs of a Revolutionary Daughter by Carmen Aguirre (Douglas & McIntyre)

Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest by Wade Davis (Knopf Canada)

The Patrol: Seven Days in the Life of a Canadian Soldier in Afghanistan by Ryan Flavelle (HarperCollins Canada)

Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe by Charlotte Gill (Greystone Books)

Nation Maker: Sir John A. MacDonald: His Life, Our Times Volume Two: 1867–1891 by Richard Gwyn (Random House Canada)

The Measure of a Man: The Story of a Father, a Son, and a Suit by J. J. Lee (McClelland & Stewart)

Facing the Hunter: Reflections on a Misunderstood Way of Life by David Adams Richards (Doubleday Canada)

Why Not? Fifteen Reasons to Live by Ray Robertson (Biblioasis)

Afflictions and Departures by Madeline Sonik (Anvil Press)

The Chimps of Fauna Sanctuary: A Canadian Story of Resilience and Recovery by Andrew Westoll (HarperCollins Canada)

Bad Animals: A Father’s Accidental Education in Autism by Joel Yanofsky (Viking Canada)

Initially awarded biennially beginning in 2000, the Charles Taylor Prize has been an annual award since 2005. Past winners include Wayne Johnston, Carol Shields, Isabel Huggan, Richard Gwyn and Ian Brown. Last year's winner was Charles Foran, for his biography of Mordecai Richer, Mordecai: The Life & Times (A.A. Knopf Canada).

This group of books will be pared down to a shortlist on January 10. This year's jury is comprised of Allan M. Brandt, Stevie Cameron, and Susan Renouf. The winner will be announced March 5.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad