Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

2008 Heritage Toronto Awards Finalists Announced

Share |
2008 Heritage Toronto Awards Finalists Announced

Heritage Toronto has announced the finalists for the 34th Annual Heritage Toronto Awards. The Awards celebrate outstanding contributions by individuals and community organizations, as well as industry professionals and associations, in promoting and conserving Toronto's history and heritage landmarks. Awards are given in four categories: Book, Architecture, Media and Community Heritage.

In each category (except the Community Heritage Award), there are two levels of award: Award of Excellence and Award of Merit. The award recipients will be announced on Monday, October 27 at the historic Carlu. Mr. John Campbell, President & CEO, Waterfront Toronto, will deliver the William Kilbourn Memorial Lecture: “A Shore Thing: The Future of Toronto's Waterfront.” Go to for ticket information and for a complete list of nominees, descriptions and photos.

Finalists for the Book Category

  • Concrete Toronto: A Guidebook to Concrete Architecture from the Fifties to the Seventies (Coach House Books and E.R.A. Architects) by Michael McClelland and Graeme Stewart (editors)
  • The Great Adventure: 100 Years at the Arts & Letters Club (The Arts & Letters Club of Toronto) by Margaret McBurney
  • I've Got a Home in Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad (Thomas Allen Publishers) by Karolyn Smardz Frost

Visit the Heritage Toronto website for lists of the finalists for Architecture, Media and Community Heritage.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad