Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Finalists for the Writers' Trust Awards

Share |

The finalists for the Writers' Trust Awards were announced on October 1st in Toronto at Ben McNally Books. The prize categories are fiction, non-fiction and short fiction. The winners of the awards will be announced at an event on November 17.

Visit the Writers' Trust website to enter a contest to win a set of this year's nominated titles.

The Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize ($25,000)

Sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc.

  • Rivka Galchen (New York City) for Atmospheric Disturbances (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Rawi Hage (Montreal) for Cockroach (House of Anansi Press)
  • Lee Henderson (Vancouver) for The Man Game (Viking Canada)
  • Patrick Lane (North Saanich, British Columbia) for Red Dog, Red Dog (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Miriam Toews (Winnipeg) for The Flying Troutmans (Knopf Canada)

Jury: Lawrence Hill (Burlington, Ontario), Annabel Lyon (Vancouver), and Heather O’Neill (Montreal)

Each finalist for this prize receives $3,500.

The Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize ($25,000)

  • Taras Grescoe (Montreal) for Bottomfeeder: How to Eat Ethically in a World of Vanishing Seafood (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Carl Honoré (London, United Kingdom) for Under Pressure: Rescuing Childhood from the Culture of Hyper-Parenting (Knopf Canada)
  • Mark Kingwell (Toronto) for Concrete Reveries: Consciousness and the City (Viking Canada)
  • Margaret Visser (Toronto/Paris/south of France) for The Gift of Thanks: The Roots, Persistence and Paradoxical Meanings of a Social Ritual (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Russell Wangersky (St. John’s) for Burning Down the House: Fighting Fire and Losing Myself (Thomas Allen Publishers)

Jury: Derek Lundy (Salt Spring Island, British Columbia), Jan Wong (Toronto), and Darren Wershler-Henry (Toronto)

Each finalist for this prize receives $3,500.

The Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize ($10,000)

Made possible by James A. Michener’s donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his 1988 novel, Journey.

The Journey Prize recognizes the best short story or excerpt from a novel-in-progress by a new and developing writer that had its first publication in a Canadian literary journal in the previous year.

  • Dana Mills (Toronto) for “Steaming for Godthab,” published in Geist
  • Saleema Nawaz (Montreal) for “My Three Girls,” published in Prairie Review
  • Clea Young (Vancouver) for “Chaperone,” published in Grain Magazine

Jury: Lynn Coady (Toronto), Heather O’Neill (Montreal), and Neil Smith (Montreal)

The journal that published the winning entry receives $2,000.

Four additional prizes for a body of work will be presented at the Writers’ Trust Awards event.

  • Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life ($20,000)
  • Vicky Metcalf Award for Children’s Literature ($20,000)
  • Writers’ Trust Award for Distinguished Contribution
  • Writers’ Trust Notable Author Award ($25,000)

The International Festival of Authors will hold a reading by the finalists of the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize on October 29, 2008. For further information visit

The finalists of the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize will also be in attendance at this year’s Writers’ Trust Gala, a prestigious fundraising event to be held on October 28, 2008, at Toronto’s Four Seasons Hotel.

The Writers’ Trust Awards event will take place in Toronto at the Isabel Bader Theatre on November 17, 2008. The Writers’ Trust Awards are made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. The national print media sponsor, The Globe and Mail, provides additional support. The Writers’ Trust Awards receive no financial support from any government programs.

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that supports Canadian writers and writing through various programs, including literary awards, financial grants, workshops, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. For more information visit

From the Writers' Trust website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad