Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Finalists for 2008 Charles Taylor Prize Announced

Share |

The finalists for the 2008 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction were announced yesterday in Toronto at the King Edward Hotel. The finalists are Kevin Bazzana for Lost Genius: The Story of a Forgotten Musical Maverick (McClelland & Stewart), David Gilmour for The Film Club: A True Story of a Father and Son (Thomas Allen), Lorna Goodison for From Harvey River: A Memoir of My Mother and Her People (McClelland & Stewart), Richard Gwyn for John A.: The Man Who Made Us: The Life and Times of John A. Macdonald, Vol. One: 1815-1867 (Random House Canada), and Anna Porter for Kasztner's Train: The True Story of Rezso Kasztner, Unknown Hero of the Holocaust (Douglas & McIntyre).

The winner of the prize will be announced on March 3. The winner will be awarded $25,000 and will read at the International Festival of Authors at the Harbourfront Centre and at the Vancouver International Writers Festival this fall. The finalists will each receive $2000 and promotional support for their books.

2008 marks the eighth year for The Charles Taylor Prize. The organization’s mission is “to enhance public appreciation for the genre knwn as literary non-fiction.” Charles Taylor thought that “a well-read and well-informed public contributes to a thriving democracy; that excellence in style is the basis of communication in thought.”

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad