Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Edna Staebler Award Shortlist

Share |

Last week, the shortlist for the 2009 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction was announced. Administered by Wilfred Laurier University, the award "encourages and recognizes Canadian writers for a first or second work of creative non-fiction that includes a Canadian locale and/or significance."

The shortlist: The Darien Gap: Travels in the Rainforest of Panama (Harbour Publishing) by Martin Mitchinson, Lost: A Memoir (Key Porter Books) by Cathy Ostlere and The Riverbones: Stumbling After Eden in the Jungles of Suriname (McClelland & Stewart) by Andrew Westoll.

The winner of the $10,000 prize will be announced this month.

Read more about the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction at

In December 2008, Andrew Westoll talked to Open Book about The Riverbones. Read the Ten Questions interview here.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad