Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

2007/2008 Donner Prize Short List

Share |
2007/2008 Donner Prize Short List

The short list for the prestigious Donner Prize has been announced. The prize is awarded annually and it was established ten years ago by the Donner Canadian Foundation to "recognize and reward the best public policy thinking, writing and research in Canada as a whole." The five books on the 2007/2008 short list are: The People's House of Commons: Theories of Democracy in Contention by David E. Smith (University of Toronto Press), Enter the Babylon System: Unpacking Gun Culture from Samuel Colt to 50 Cent by Rodrigo Bascuñán and Christian Pearce (Random House), Young Thugs: Inside the Dangerous World of Canadian Street Gangs by Michael C. Chettleburgh (HarperCollins), Fueling Our Future: An Introduction to Sustainable Energy by Robert L. Evans (Cambridge University Press) and The Unexpected War: Canada in Kandahar by Janice Gross Stein and Eugene Lang (Viking Canada).

The winner of the Donner Prize will be announced at an awards ceremony at in downtown Toronto on Wednesday, April 16. The winner will receive $35,000 and the other finalists will each receive $5,000.

The Donner Canadian Foundation “was established in 1950 by businessman and philanthropist William H. Donner to support projects that advance the common good in Canada by encouraging private initiative, independence and individual responsibility. Over the years, the Foundation has been instrumental in encouraging and supporting public policy research throughout Canada in a variety of fields. Since 1967, the Foundation has contributed over $100 million to more than 1,000 projects across the country.” From the Donner Prize , website.

Read more about the Donner Canadian Foundation and the Donner Prize at

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad