Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

The bpNichol Chapbook Award Shortlist

Share |

Phoenix Community Works Foundation (PCWF) is sponsoring the 4th Annual Award Night for the bpNichol Chapbook Award. The event is on Wednesday, June 23rd, and will be held at 20 Gothic Ave (doors open at 7 p.m.). The evening will include a series of poetry readings, music, a tribute to bpNichol and the award presentation.

The 2010 bpNichol Chapbook Award Shortlist

Aaron Tucker, Apartments (The Emergency Response Unit)
Alisha Piercy, You haave hair like flags, flags that point in many directions at once but cannot pinpoint land when lost at sea (Your Lips To Mine Press)
Mark Callanan, Sea Legend (Frog Hollow Press)
Larissa Lai, Eggs in the Basement (Nomados)

From our friends at PCWF:

The [bpNichol Chapbook] Award was first established in1984, under the guidance of poets, bpNichol and Frank Davey to inspire, encourage and support Canadian poets and the smaller Canadian presses who ordinarily publish chapbooks. After the death of bpNichol in 1988, it was renamed in memory of the prolific writer and performer. bpNichol was one of the original founders of PCWF.

The prize has been raised to $2000 in recent years and is awarded to the best poetry chapbook written in English and published in Canada.

This year’s Judges are Bill Kennedy and Maggie Helwig. Hosting the event is Ed Nixon. There will be live Jazz and readings by both Judges and those on the short-list.

Everyone is welcome and Admission is Free, but if you are unable to attend, the winner will be featured on – a website developed by the Artmob project in collaboration with Ellie Nichol and designed as a not-for-profit community initiative.

Over the years, the Award has supported and recognized some of Canada’s best poets. Past winners include George Bowering, Susan Musgrave, Paul Dutton, Lisa Robertson and Barry McKinnon, Jake Kennedy, Jay Millar and Cara Benson. It has also been a terrific opportunity for new emerging poets who often publish their first works in chapbook form.

The winner will be announced tomorrow, so stay tuned!

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad