Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Alessandra Naccarato Wins 2015 RBC Browen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Share |
Alessandra Naccarato

In a ceremony held last night at the Royal Conservatory of Music, The Writers' Trust of Canada announced Alessandra Naccarato as the winner of the 2015 RBC Bronwn Wallace Award for Emerging Writers for her poetry collection, "Re-Origin of Species." The award includes a $5,000 prize, as well as the opportunity to mentor under an established writer.

The jury, comprised of poets Fiona Tinwei Lam, Rachel Rose and Nilofar Shidmehr, selected the winner from 136 submissions. In their citation, they describe Alessandra's writing as "visually powerful and sensually charged." The two finalists, Irfan Ali and Chuqiao Yang, each took home $1,000 and have also been paired with an established writer.

The award, established in 1994 in honour of writer Bronwen Wallace, recognizes writers who are under 35 and unpublished in book form, and alternates each year between poetry and short fiction. The award is administered by the Writers' Trust of Canada and is supported by the RBC Emerging Artists Project, which invests in up-and-coming artists to help build their professional careers.

For more information, please visit the Writers' Trust website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad