Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

2014 Finalists Announced for the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction

Share |
Writers' Trust of Canada

The Writers' Trust of Canada and Hon. Hilary M. Weston announced the five finalists for the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction today at the Loblaws store at Maple Leaf Gardens. The Hilary Weston Prize is the richest annual literary award for a Canadian work of nonfiction, with each finalist receiving $5,000 and the winner receiving $60,000.

The jurors, made up of writers Charles Foran, Priscila Uppal and Merrily Weisbord, read a total of 92 titles that were submitted for consideration by 42 publishers. In a unique approach, two more jurors will be added to the prize jury to help select the prizewinner. The new members are Peter Mansbridge, the anchor for CBC's The National and Deepa Mehta, award-winning film director and screenwriter. The prizewinner will be announced at a gala presentation at Toronto’s Art Gallery of Ontario on October 14.

The 2014 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction:

  • Susan Delacourt for Shopping for Votes: How Politicians Choose Us and We Choose Them (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Naomi Klein for This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. the Climate (Knopf Canada)
  • Charles Montgomery for Happy City: Transforming Our Lives Through Urban Design (Doubleday Canada)
  • Paula Todd for Extreme Mean: Trolls, Bullies and Predators Online (Signal)
  • Kathleen Winter for Boundless: Tracing Land and Dream in a New Northwest Passage (House of Anansi)
  • Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad