Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Stormy Weather: Foursomes by Stan Dragland

Share |
Stormy Weather: Foursomes by Stan Dragland

Pedlar Press, 2005

About the book:
Stormy Weather is a lament in the aftermath of a failed relationship - twelve prose poems or "foursomes" working in a field of emotional turbulence with humour and curiosity. Each of the book's twelve sections fall into four paragraphs, and four companion quotations divide the sections; hence the subtitle, "foursomes," a term rassled away from the game of golf. The author, literary luminary Stan Dragland, confesses himself surprised at the diversity of fascinating material that gathers to his distress, some of it inappropriately funny. The heart falters but the world goes on. The heart falters but the mind leaps, from September 11, 2001 to Lear's Fool to The McGarrigle Hour to "Jack and the Beanstalk" to Mr. Iceberg to the dream of the blue dress to Paul Durcan's poetry to (disconnected) dry bones. The sentences, plain and protean, are answerable to all this bounce.

About the author:
Stan Dragland was born and brought up in Alberta. He was educated at The University of Alberta and Queen's University. He has taught at the University of Alberta, at The Grammar School, Sudbury, Suffolk, England, in the English Department at the University of Western Ontario in London, and in the Banff Centre Writing Studio. He now lives in St. John's, Newfoundland. He was founding editor of Brick, a journal of reviews and founder of Brick Books, a poetry publishing house, which he still serves as publisher and editor. Between 1993 and 1996 he was poetry editor for McClelland and Stewart. He has published three previous books of fiction: Peckertracks, a Chronicle (shortlisted for the 1978 Books in Canada First Novel Prize), Journeys Through Bookland and Other Passages, and (for children) Simon Jesse's Journey. He has edited collections of essays on Duncan Campbell Scott and James Reaney. Wilson MacDonald's Western Tour, a 'critical collage,' has been followed by two other books of criticism, The Bees of the Invisible: Essays in Contemporary English Canadian Writing and Floating Voice: Duncan Campbell Scott and the Literature of Treaty 9, which won the 1995 Gabrielle Roy Prize for Canadian Literary Criticism. 12 Bars, a prose blues, was co-winner of the bp Nichol Chapbook Award in 2003, the same year Apocrypha: Further Journeys appeared in NeWest Press's Writer-as-Critic series. Apocrypha was winner of the Rogers Cable Non-Fiction Award in 2005. In April 2004 the stage adaptation of Halldór Laxness's The Atom Station, co-written with Agnes Walsh, was performed at the LSPU Hall in St. John's. His most recent book is Stormy Weather: Foursomes, prose poetry from Pedlar Press, shortlisted for the EJ Pratt Poetry Award in 2007. He is editor of the recently-released Hard-Headed and Big-Hearted: Writing Newfoundland, a collection of essays by Newfoundland historian Stuart Pierson. His new novel, The Drowned Lands, will be released by Pedlar Press in March 2008.